FM231 - Wireless Driveway Alarm

Solar Powered Compatible
  • Instantly alerts you when someone pulls into or out of your driveway
  • The outdoor electromagnetic sensor only detects vehicles; no false alarms due to animals, children, etc.
  • Easy-to-install Electromagnetic Sensor Wand is buried next to your driveway, and detects mass metal moving within a 3-12 ft. radius of the wand.
  • When a vehicle passes by the sensor, an outdoor transmitter communicates wirelessly to an internal base station up to 400 ft. away and sounds a pleasant chime
  • Ideal for home and business
  • Requires 2 AA batteries (not included)
  • Low battery indicator on both the Indoor receiver and transmitter

  Buy Online   Find a Retailer
TractorSupply.com
Home Depot
HomeDepot.com
Buy at Amazon
Amazon.com
Mighty Mule Store
MightyMuleStore.com

Reviews

Mighty Mule FM231 Wireless Driveway Alarm is rated 2.8 out of 5 by 27.
Rated 2 out of 5 by from good and bad I have bought three of these, one each for three years. It works great for about a year then it only works occasionally. I put the cable in conduit this last time but it still started having problems after a year. It is a lot of trouble to dig this up and replace it and resew the grass each year.
Date published: 2017-12-21
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Waste of money Bought this thing got it installed and its only worked 3 times. The transmitter is only 265ft from the reciver and the reciver is in a window with a direct line of sight to the transmitter but it only worked 3 times after i dug it up and moved it from the original 350ft i had it. It shows to be transmitting but no aleart. So my advice is dont waste your 60 bucks put it towards a more reliable peice of equipment.
Date published: 2017-03-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My wife loves this!! We recently moved to a secluded house with a long driveway. My wife was tired of being surprised by people walking around the house without her knowing it. I found this, ordered it and installed it in a half hour. It works flawlessly and no more surprises!!
Date published: 2016-12-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Second one This is my second one and I love it! My only complaint is mounting the transmitter into the ground with out damaging the cord.
Date published: 2016-12-07
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Cable is WAY too short!!! Not cool that the cable between the transmitor and magnet is so short that the transmitor has to be right in the grass. Have to mow around it because it won't reach over to any shrub or post.
Date published: 2016-05-21
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Waste of money Worked for about twelve and one-half months and started not working after the warrantywas up.
Date published: 2016-08-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works pretty well My Mighty Mule has been installed for a couple of months now and is performing its job very well. The only difficulty I've experienced is not being able to hear the receiver if I don't happen to be close by when the alert tone sounds. The tone is fine if you happen to be in the same or adjacent room with the receiver, but otherwise, you still won't know if a vehicle is approaching. It would be very helpful to have multiple receivers and/or other options (perhaps WiFi) for communicating the alarm to other areas. Amazon lists extra receivers for $50, which seems high since I only paid $60 for the complete kit. I might do better to install a second alarm and use the same pin settings on both.
Date published: 2016-05-06
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Can work well but... It has nowhere near the 400 ft. range advertised. Place it in an application less than 100 ft and you have a good chance of having a reliable alarm system.
Date published: 2016-04-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Follow the directions and.... I've been interested in such a sensor for a few years but now that they are $60 I jumped on it. Our driveway is almost 18' wide and transitions from poured concrete to concrete pavers. I was a bit concerned with the 12' limit of detection. Being a man, I had a hard time following directions and I had "hoped" that placing the sensor on an embankment would extend my sense range. I was also concerned if poured concrete (with rebar) would "interfere". I found that burying the sensor about 8 inches from the poured concrete and 10-12" down in sandy soil provided the best results. Detecting a car even to the opposite side of the sensor with no issue. The other issue that arose was signal reception. If you remove the cover from the transmitter you can observe the "transmit" LED flash during detection so you will know if the sensor is detecting, then you can "troubleshoot" why the base station isn't receiving the signal. I'm very happy with the results, now if I could add a solar cell charger and hack an interface to the base station with my home automation/home alarm to log events/ send sms messages etc. Thanks for a nice, affordable system.
Date published: 2016-02-22
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Very weak transmitter The first one I had sent all kinds of false alarms and many times I had people show up at my door, and there was their car in my driveway, but no alert! The replaced it so now this detects and alerts about 1 out of four times. And I have done everything to a "T". The ONLY time it worked like it was supposed to I had to take the receiver outside and plug it in.
Date published: 2016-08-01
Rated 1 out of 5 by from no not buy yes easy to install but it said it had a 400 ft range if I move it more than 200 ft it did not work so pay more and get something that works.
Date published: 2016-08-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is one of the best I bought one last week I installed it and at first it wasn't working and constantly going off every two seconds. Then I whipped out the manual after I tried a few other things on my own witch didn't work. First off my driveway is a eighth of a mile long but I wasn't placing it at then end just down from the house to where I was comfortable putting it. Well I seen it had the range on 400ft. depending on obstacles in the line of sight. So I went and measured and I was at 1,200ft. Way over the limit. So I measured to the 400ft then back10ft and placed it so I'm at 390ft. That's going thru two walls and some trees. From then on it has been working great and I have had no problems. Very easy to setup and to get going.
Date published: 2016-07-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good product I have power lines buried on one side of the driveway and the this sensor on the other It works well. Once every few days we get a false alarm but not sure if a vehicle enters the driveway to turn around of just a false signal. Sensor-transmitter is about 70 feet from the alarm unit.
Date published: 2018-12-07
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Doesn’t dectct half the time I bought this about 2 months ago. I wanted to give it an honest try before posting a review. This was not my first choice but I was having a hard time finding what I needed. Had to dig a hole (which I did not have to do with my old alarm) to bury the transmitter which then sticks up out of the ground about 2-3’ as to where my old alarm transmitter just had to be posted on a tree. Has a sensitivity dial that I found pretty interesting. When turned all the way up it would pick up everything passing within 5 feet of the driveway, even falling leaves. When turned all the way down it wouldn’t pick up a thing. So I used slightly past middle for my sensitivity. Seemed to work at first because it would pick my car up. But not much else. I have adjusted this thing 100 times, re-position the transmitter over and over again but it just won’t the tech properly. If it’s not a midsize car or a small truck it was slip by undetected. I was very disappointed With this product and would not recommend.
Date published: 2018-11-08
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Alarm Chime is hardly noticeable : Driveway Alarm I installed this product .It was at least 25 feet from road . Oct 2018 But there were False Alarms . The Receiver in the House was hardly Audible. Volume Adjustment was at Max. I phoned the Customer support and they said " yes , so some people have bought two Receivers they place apart from each other so they can hear the Alarm Better " There is Background noise in a Home , The Alarm needs to be Louder.
Date published: 2018-10-23
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Works great I bought this yesterday and it works pretty good but if more than 1 vehicle comes in you won't know it, it has to be reset after every alarm don't like that and if you forget to reset it you won't get any more alarms. Thinking about taking it back.
Date published: 2018-10-04
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Alarm and tec service sucks Alarm lightly beeps twice. Can hardly hear it. Will not pick up smaller things like 4 wheelers.
Date published: 2018-07-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This is my second driveway alarm from Mighty Mule. Once installed they work pretty good. Do need a choice of getting one with a longer cable as the one supplied is kinda short for some installations. The only thing I dislike about it is, I CAN'T HEAR the alarm if in another room even when turned to loudest setting! Product would be 5 stars if it had a LOUDER sound which could be adjusted to the user's preference.
Date published: 2018-05-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have had one since last summer, it with stood a cold and harsh Canadian winter. Easy to install and sound is easy to hear. In fact alerted us at 2:45 am when a vehicle entered our driveway. It has done its job. :)
Date published: 2018-05-08
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Durable product but short range The advertised range may be accurate in a wide open open field with NO interference at all. I have very unreliable service at 80 feet away. And that is with the reciever placed at the outside wall of my house closest to the transmitter. This is not all where I wanted to put the reciever. Volume is very low. Cant be heard throughout the rooms that I wanted it for. I have electronic experience and I may ectend the cable as one other review had done. That will void the warranty but the product seems durable enough that I may risk that. Much better unit than $15 one from Harbor Freight, but didnt do what I extected for almost $70. Would I recommend this alarm???? depends on the range you desire. I would if you can place the transmitter within 50-75 feet of the reciver
Date published: 2017-12-17
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Junk works about 50 percent of the time, and if it is raining it will not work at all. do not waste your money.
Date published: 2017-06-17
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Alarm isn't loud enough The system seems to work well, except for the alarm. It's not loud enough, or long enough. If the grandkids are playing in the house, or the TV volume is turned up a bit, you will never hear the alarm, even with its volume on max. I wish you could add an external speaker.
Date published: 2017-02-07
  • y_2018, m_12, d_17, h_23
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.9
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_26
  • loc_en_US, sid_FM231, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=POSITIVE_FEEDBACK, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_gto
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 2.3.0.1
  • CLOUD, method:getContent, 220.86ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT