Wireless Driveway Alarm System - FM231

Wireless Driveway Alarm System

Keep track of vehicles entering or exiting your property with our FM231 wireless driveway alarm system. The system monitors and alerts you when someone enters your driveway, no matter the length or type of driveway. With a 400 ft range and an electromagnetic motion sensor that only detects vehicles, this driveway alert system is perfect for homes or businesses, allowing you to keep a pulse on who is coming in and out of your driveway.

Increase the long-range wireless system with additional driveway vehicle sensors that can be programmed to automatically open your gate for exiting guest without using a remote. Wireless driveway vehicle sensors are available for ranges between

Check out more of our FM231 driveway alarm system features below:

  • Instantly alerts you when someone pulls into or out of your driveway
  • The outdoor electromagnetic sensor only detects vehicles; no false alarms due to animals, children, etc.
  • Easy-to-install Electromagnetic Sensor Wand is buried next to your driveway, and detects mass metal moving within a 3-12 ft. radius of the wand.
  • When a vehicle passes by the sensor, an outdoor transmitter communicates wirelessly to an internal base station up to 400 ft. away and sounds a pleasant chime
  • Ideal for home and business
  • Requires 2 AA batteries (not included)
  • Low battery indicator on both the Indoor receiver and transmitter
  • Additional Wireless Driveway Base Stations / receiver unit (FM231-R) available
  • Add a 100 ft Driveway Vehicle Sensor (FM140) that automatically allows guest to exit without a remote

WARNING: Cancer and Reproductive Harm - www.P65Warnings.ca.gov


  Buy Online   Find a Retailer
Tractor Supply
TractorSupply.com
Home Depot
HomeDepot.com
Buy at Amazon
Amazon.com
Mighty Mule Store
MightyMuleStore.com

Reviews

Mighty Mule FM231 Wireless Driveway Alarm is rated 4.3 out of 5 by 16.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Second one This is my second one and I love it! My only complaint is mounting the transmitter into the ground with out damaging the cord.
Date published: 2016-12-07
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Product great, support, not so much this is my second unit. The first lasted for years and quit working. I ordered a second unit. After inspecting the first unit, After years of use, it just needed cleaning and began to work. I called customer Service to ask if two could be used together and complement on the product. I was put on hold, listen to music for 15 min and then hung up.
Date published: 2020-09-02
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Worked for a year with few issues.... I bought this a little over a year ago and it worked fine, except a few false alarms during thunder storms. Recently I noticed that I wasn’t being alerted when someone would enter my driveway. I changed the batteries and it worked one time. I’ve removed the transmitter cap to insure it was still plugged in. Anytime I do this it works ONE TIME then no more.
Date published: 2020-11-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from False alarms after 2 years of service As the title says, false alarms.after a year of service. After doing all the common sense checks and troubleshooting I discovered that the alarms were temperature related. I did not need the coil connected to set it off. While holding it in my hand I could set it off with the heat from a hair dryer. Bottom line after taking it apart, I discover that capacitor C4 (.47uf) on the board, was the heat sensitive part. I replaced C4 and it has been working fine. The only thing I can think of is that you got a bad batch of capacitors.
Date published: 2020-09-12
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Works great but the chime is not near loud enough even on high! Can’t hear it if in another room!!!
Date published: 2020-08-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works just as it should ! Terrific alert tool! We've owned this for only 3 days, but it works like a charm, no problem ! Since we live in the desert at the end of a cul-de-sac, we cannot always see cars approaching until our Security camera overlooking the front door alerts us.This alarm is plenty loud for our needs (we keep it bedside), but doesn't get triggered by people (even those carrying yard tools) nor animals (of which we have many from the Nt'l Forest adjacent to us), but DOES get triggered by cars just as it should.Because the soil around us is a mix of VERY compact desert soil and rocks, I used my drill with an auger attachment to first create the bed for the sensor, then a lateral tunnel to the actual location of the vertical post....To protect everything further (I didn't have extra PCV piping on-hand but would of course use that for a perfect fit "next time", complete with elbow bends), I merely cut up a pool noodle into proper sections. Even the sensor fits in one, quite easily.Our driveway is an ascending drive that's about 300+ feet away from the house; the windows of the BR are metal double-paned windows, and absolutely NO PROBLEM connecting.We love it !Suggestion for an upgrade, if any: 1) have a counter to supplement the "Visitor" activated light, so one knows how many visitors go by, perhaps even with a date-stamp on it (not a problem for us, as the Security Camera alerts us on our phones, complete with live video); and 2) have a wireless app of some kind so that one knows when one is away that it has been triggered (again, not a problem with the wireless Security Cameras).So: easy install, solid instructions, does exactly what it claims to do (btw, has a plenty-long USB cable!), and is super reliable for us. Would recommend in a heartbeat !
Date published: 2020-08-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to install I needed a driveway alert for a fairly long driveway. This fit the bill! It works great!
Date published: 2019-04-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have had one since last summer, it with stood a cold and harsh Canadian winter. Easy to install and sound is easy to hear. In fact alerted us at 2:45 am when a vehicle entered our driveway. It has done its job. :)
Date published: 2018-05-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Follow the directions and.... I've been interested in such a sensor for a few years but now that they are $60 I jumped on it. Our driveway is almost 18' wide and transitions from poured concrete to concrete pavers. I was a bit concerned with the 12' limit of detection. Being a man, I had a hard time following directions and I had "hoped" that placing the sensor on an embankment would extend my sense range. I was also concerned if poured concrete (with rebar) would "interfere". I found that burying the sensor about 8 inches from the poured concrete and 10-12" down in sandy soil provided the best results. Detecting a car even to the opposite side of the sensor with no issue.The other issue that arose was signal reception. If you remove the cover from the transmitter you can observe the "transmit" LED flash during detection so you will know if the sensor is detecting, then you can "troubleshoot" why the base station isn't receiving the signal.I'm very happy with the results, now if I could add a solar cell charger and hack an interface to the base station with my home automation/home alarm to log events/ send sms messages etc.Thanks for a nice, affordable system.
Date published: 2016-02-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is one of the best I bought one last week I installed it and at first it wasn't working and constantly going off every two seconds. Then I whipped out the manual after I tried a few other things on my own witch didn't work. First off my driveway is a eighth of a mile long but I wasn't placing it at then end just down from the house to where I was comfortable putting it. Well I seen it had the range on 400ft. depending on obstacles in the line of sight. So I went and measured and I was at 1,200ft. Way over the limit. So I measured to the 400ft then back10ft and placed it so I'm at 390ft. That's going thru two walls and some trees. From then on it has been working great and I have had no problems. Very easy to setup and to get going.
Date published: 2016-07-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My wife loves this!! We recently moved to a secluded house with a long driveway. My wife was tired of being surprised by people walking around the house without her knowing it. I found this, ordered it and installed it in a half hour. It works flawlessly and no more surprises!!
Date published: 2016-12-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from works great I have had this alarm for 6 years and hasn't faulted once
Date published: 2020-09-23
  • y_2021, m_1, d_25, h_17
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.13
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_16
  • loc_en_US, sid_FM231, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=POSITIVE_FEEDBACK, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_gto
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 2.3.0.1
  • CLOUD, method:getContent, 108.23ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT